30 Day Health & Fitness Challenge- The Mom Bod! Day 19

Fresh_tangled_thai
I get busy, often, and sometimes I’m not even sure what it is I’ve been busy with, as the house is a mess, the laundry has yet to be folded, there are toys everywhere but Phoenix is finally asleep. Then I suddenly realize I’m starving, I haven’t eaten anything and I’m in no mood to cook, besides the dishes aren’t done… and that’s where today’s tip comes in handy!

Day 19:
Find healthy takeout! It is so necessary to have a good go-to spot that will fill you up with healthy, whole foods, when you’re just too tired to prepare them yourself! Often you’ll find the healthiest options at vegetarian, vegan or juice bars, but that does not mean you have to forego meat eating nor do you need to indulge in a tofu salad, if that’s not your cup of tea. You can search for restaurants that offer organic foods, hormone-free meats and poultry preferably, or you can stick to your old favourites but find their healthy options. Just be aware of extra sugar and hidden calories in dressings, toppings, butter, glazes, and more.

Bonus:
If you live in the Toronto area here are some of my favourite healthy food locations:
Fresh is an old favourite, I was obsessed with their sweet potato fries and miso gravy while I was pregnant, now that my immune system is back and belongs only to me, I resort to getting their gluten-free mushroom gravy. The mega-life salad, beach bowl, and green candy juice are all on the top of my list.
Live is another fave, which I often pick up their sweet potato noodles in grocery stores, although the market is located in Liberty Village and their food bar and sit down restaurant is in the Annex.

I also asked friends what their favourite healthy food spots and here are some of their suggestions:
Toronto:
Bolt Fresh Bar, Feel Good Guru, Freshii
Montreal:
Crudessence
Miami:
Pura Vida
Venice and Los Angeles, California:
Cafe Gratitude

I’ll add more as they are offered
And here’s a list from Living Maxwell for New York.

Photo Credit: Vegangela‘s Tangled Thai Salad from Fresh Restaurants Cookbook.

Leave a Reply

